Villopoto wins AMA Supercross Indianapolis

Steve Cox

Marvin Musquin heelclicker on his way to first place in the 250 class at Indianapolis.

INDIANAPOLIS -- Kawasaki's Ryan Villopoto won his sixth 450SX Class Main Event of the season at the AMA Supercross on Saturday.

Red Bull KTM's Marvin Musquin won his second consecutive Eastern Regional 250SX Class Main Event.

Villopoto moved into third place on the opening lap. Villopoto passed Davi Millsaps on Lap 3, but Millsaps answered and moved into second place. Three laps later, Villopoto moved around Millsaps and held the position. On the same lap, Yoshimura Suzuki's James Stewart stalled his bike and Villopoto took over the lead.

Red Bull KTM's Ryan Dungey passed Millsaps for second place on Lap 7. On the final lap of the race, Millsaps crashed after the finish line jump and gave the third position to Stewart. Dungey held on for second and Stewart finished third.

Villopoto, who earned the 30th win of his career, became the first rider to win four races in Indianapolis and extended his points lead to nine.

"James (Stewart) was riding great tonight," Villopoto said. "Lucas Oil Stadium has been great to me; it's an amazing stadium and I love coming here. Ryan (Dungey) was able to make up some time on me here and there, but I just kept pushing hard until the end."

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450 Class results: Indianapolis., March 16, 2013

Place Name
1 Ryan Villopoto
2 Ryan Dungey
3 James Stewart
4 David Milsaps
5 Justin Barcia
6 Chad Reed
7 Andrew Short
8 Matthew Goerke
9 Eli Tomac
10 Weston Peick

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450 Class season standings through March 16, 2013

Place Name Points
1 Ryan Villopoto 227
2 David Milsaps 218
3 Ryan Dungey 210
4 Chad Reed 178
5 Justin Barcia 168
6 Trey Canard 165
7 James Stewart 155
8 Andrew Short 136
9 Justin Brayton 112
10 Broc Tickle 109

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250 Class results: Indianapolis., March 16, 2013

Place Name
1 Marvin Musquin
2 Kyle Peters
3 William Hahn
4 A.J. Catanzaro
5 Justin Hill

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 250 Class East season standings through March 6, 2013

Place Name Points
1 William Hahn 112
2 Marvin Musquin 103
3 Blake Wharton 88
4 Dean Wilson 87
5 Kyle Peters 67

Related Content