Hibbert, Martin take Snocross wins in Fargo, N.D.

Lissa Marsolek/Wayne Davis Photography

Ross Martin, second from right, redeemed himself with a victory in Saturday night's Pro Open main event.

Tucker Hibbert and Ross Martin traded victories over the weekend in the AMSOIL Championship Snocross Pro Open class during two rounds of racing at the Buffalo River Race Park in Fargo, N.D.

A day after he was black-flagged for a premature start, Martin won Saturday night's main event ahead of Tim Tremblay and Emil Ohman.

"Yesterday, I was pretty disappointed, so I'm super happy to be up here tonight," Martin said. "I just wanted to come in today and win. Qualified No. 1 and got the first gate pick and up front early. When I was up front, I just had the biggest smile on my face, put my head down and just went for it."

On Friday night, Martin's quick start was too good to be true, and he was penalized by sitting out a lap during which he watched Hibbert take over a lead he wouldn't relinquish to gain his 10th victory of the season. Martin fought back to finish fifth, however; Kody Kamm was second, and Johan Lidman was third.

"Yeah, Ross jumping the start threw me off, but I was able to make a few passes and get to the lead," Hibbert, of nearby Pelican Rapids, Minn., said Friday night. "The track was super gnarly … feels good to win here at my home race."

Jake Scott swept the Pro Lites class Friday and Saturday to pad his lead in the standings to 59 points over second-place Andrew Lieders.

"My second win of the weekend … I'm so pumped right now," Scott said. "I got the holeshot and then just had fun racing out there and was able to win."

Rounds 15 and 16, the last of the eight-stop snocross season, will take place March 15-17 at Grand Geneva Resort and Spa in Lake Geneva, Wis.

AMSOIL National Pro Open overall standings (after 14 rounds)

Place Name Points
1 Tucker Hibbert 577
2 Ross Martin 500
2 Tim Tremblay 495
4 Kody Kamm 421
5 Emil Ohman 400
6 Robbie Malinoski 389
7 Logan Christian 388
8 Kyle Pallin 372
9 Justin Broberg 361
10 Darrin Mees 349

AMSOIL National Pro Lite overall standings (after 14 rounds)

Place Name Points
1 Jake Scott 527
2 Andrew Lieders 468
3 David Joanis 466
4 Travis Muller 460
5 Renaud Alexandre 409
6 Dylan Hall 392
7 Andrew Carlson 368
8 Chase Rosemeyer 306
9 Matt Pichner 297
10 Joey Sagan 296

Related Content